Posted by: mikeeatsdetroit | February 2, 2009

Hippo’s Hot Dogs: The Gauntlet

For the past few months I have heard Glenn Haege (America’s Master Handyman heard on News/Talk 760 WJR Saturday and Sundays Noon-2pm) talk about Hippo’s Chicago Style Hot Dogs in Troy.

hippo-dog-5

I’ve never heard of “The Vienna Beef Hotdog Hall of Fame” or really know what it is, all I know is that Hippos is in it and has been voted best hot dogs by The Detroit News, Detroit Monthly Magazine and WDIV. Hippo’s menu boasts 8 different types of hot dogs along with various polish sausage, italian sausage and italian meat selections. I would have loved to try all 8 hot dog selections but I decided on the three most enticing and name them….The Gauntlet.

hippodog3

#1 The Hippo Dog-I’m guessing since this dog shares it’s name with the restaurant it must be the calling card. The Hippo dog is a Vienna Beef frank topped with mustard, relish, onion, tomato, pickle and sport peppers which kind of sneak up on you. It may take a little work but I would suggest eating the Hippo Dog the old fashioned way, sans fork since the toppings compliment each other so well when eaten together. One dog down, a light snack, two to go.

hippodog4

#2 New York Dog-To be honest if there is a geographical location tagged onto the beginning of something edible, chances are i’m going to eat it. Topped with relish, mustard and grilled sauerkraut the New York Dog is a classic case of sweet and sour(kraut.) Sauerkraut is a polarizing side dish, people either love it or hate it with a passion, take this into account when ordering. Two down, an adequate lunch but still going strong.

hippodog2

#3 Ultimate Dog- I have to admit, this one almost put me out of business. With it’s quarter pound frank, tomatoes, saurekraut, double helping of chili and mixture of olives, onions peppers and carrots known as gardiniera, I was feeling like Rocky in the latter rounds of prize fight against Apollo Creed. I often pride myself on being able to eat anything by hand but I had no choice but to eat this with a fork, piece by piece but I overcame.

hippodog

The Aftermath

Hippo Dog

1648 Rochester Road (North of Maple) in Troy

248-524-9778

www.hipposhotdogs.com

*Stop at the ATM machine since Hippos is ca$h only.

Responses

  1. Hippo’s is the BOMB! I grew up around Flint and my dad used to take me to Hippo’s years ago…they rock!

  2. I have always been a fan of New York Style hot dogs and that one looks fantastic.

    You’re right about sauerkraut — but I really think if more people gave it a chance they’d like it too!

  3. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    I’m Out! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

